Unicode little introduction

July 29, 2016


Unicode is a character encoding standard.

  • In Unicode, each character has code-points. Unicode has more than 1 million code-points representing character for every language.

  • Unicode is text less. For saving code-points in Unicode to disk we have to encode it.

  • Unicode code-points e.g. U+004E is N and for saving, it has be encoded to UTF-8 or some other encoding techniques like UTF-16 or Shift-JIS

    • In UTF-8, first 128 character are encoded just like ASCII, so it takes 1-4 byte for per code-points for storing to disk.

    • In UTF-16, we use 2-4 byte for storing per code-points. It is optimised for language that use 2 bytes to use character.

    • In UTF-32, here it’s fixed 4 byte(32 bits) to store code-points. It’s fastest

Code points for ć character.

letter C-Point
ć U+0107

Byte Encodings

letter UTF-8 UTF-16 Shift-JIS
ć \xc4\x87 \x07\x01 \x85\xc9

Please give feedback at email@murarisumit.in